skip navigation

Attention Coaches - Please Read "Letter from the MHSAA"



I hope that this email finds you safe and healthy. Warmer temps and increased recreational activities have put summer in full swing. With a reduction in the governor’s restrictions a few ago, there appears to be some confusion of what is currently permitted under MHSAA rules. This email is to provide you with a quick breakdown of what activities are permitted between school coaches and district students.


Part of the issue may be that some do not understand that we are currently under two sets of rules: (1) Summer rules, from which baseball and softball are generally exempt and (2) COVID-19 rules, which apply to all MHSAA sports. Some coaches were under the impression that because baseball and softball are traditionally carved out of most summer restrictions, that they were also exempt from the COVID-19 rules. However, this is not the case.


Under current regulations, school coaches may participate in sport-specific activities with students from the same district as long as they only include practice or conditioning, adhere to the normal summer rules and comply with the governor’s guidelines for limited groups and physical distancing.Not permitted at this time are:

  1. Competitions that include the combination of a school team coach and any number of students from the same district (grades 7-12); or
  2. Competitions using school facilities, even if no coaches or students from the district are participating.


Permitted activities for MHSAA coaches and students may be increased if the governor:

  1. Increases the number of people allowed in groups;
  2. Relaxes physical distancing guidelines; or
  3. Advances regions of the state into the next stages of the plan to reopen.


I understand the frustration you may have with the circumstances which we find ourselves; but I also know that as an MHSAA coach, your main concern is that of the health and safety of your student-athletes. Following MHSAA rules and guidelines ensures that proper precautions are being taken in a thought-out and consistent manner. I hope that this information helps you understand what is and is not permitted activity. Please make sure to check with your athletic director for any questions about summer athletic activities. I wish you the best this summer and in your preparation for the upcoming season.



Brent Rice

Assistant Director, MHSAA

Phone: 517.332.5046


Make the Right Call…Officiate School Sports!

2020 MHSBCA All-Star Game selections

Please go to the "All Star Game" tab above to see this year's selections.  

Letter from the Executive Board

2020 MHSBCA All-State Academic Individual Award winners

The MHSBCA would like to congratulate all of the JR/SR student-athletes who earned, or continue to achieve, a 4.0 or higher in the classroom.

MHSBCA Convention 2021

If you listen to the Dugout Chatter podcast, do us a favor and put together your dream lineup of speakers.  All we can say is that the 2021 convention speakers may be the best lineup in the COUNTRY!  Stay tuned for details as we work to finalize our lineup.  Pencil in January 15-16th on your calendar as DO NOT DISTURB!



If you didn't attend the MHSBCA Convention, don't forget to register.  Varsity Head Coaches must be members in order for your players to be eligible for all post-season awards.  Cost is only $30 for the school year.


Lifetime members MUST renew their information, for insurance purposes, by clicking on the MEMBERSHIP tab.  This now MUST be done annually. 

2019 MHSBCA East-West All-Star Game at Comerica Park




2020 MHSBCA Convention Lineup



12:00-12:30    BRENT RICE - MHSAA  - “MHSAA/NFHS Rules”

12:30-12:45    DAN CIMINI - MHSBCA President - “Coaches of the Year”

12:45-1:30    MATT TALARICO - New York Yankees - “Developing High School Base Stealers”

1:30-2:15    JT MAGUIRE - Cleveland Indians  - “Outfield: The Lost Forgotten Position”

2:15-3:00    MATT TALARICO - New York Yankees  - “Building a Tool Set to Steal Second Base”

3:00-3:45    TYLER SMARSLOK - Minnesota Twins - “Designing an Environment for Infielders to Thrive”

3:45-4:00    Break / Visit Exhibitors

4:00-4:45    JEREMY SHEETINGER - Georgia Gwinnett College /Host of the Dugout Chatter Podcast  - “Building a Championship Culture”

4:45-6:15     Dinner Break

6:15-7:00    TYLER SMARSLOK - Minnesota Twins  - “Putting Your Infield Plan into Action”

7:00-7:45    MICHAEL THOMAS - Minnesota Twins  - “Catching”

7:45-8:30    JAKE MCKINLEY - Milwaukee Brewers  - “Cutting Edge Hitting Philosophies”

8:30-8:45    Break / Visit Exhibitors

8:45-9:30    JORDAN BISCHEL - Central Michigan University  - “How to Change the Culture of Your Program”


9:00-9:45    MICHAEL THOMAS - Minnesota Twins  - “Catching and Receiving”

9:45-10:30    JAKE MCKINLEY - Milwaukee Brewers  - “Pitching Programs”

10:30-11:15    BLAST MOTION - “How to Use Data to Improve Hitting”

11:15-12:00    HOT STOVE - MHSBCA Coaches  - “How to Navigate the Issues that Coaches Face"


Baseball in the News

No news currently found.

Quick Links